Skip to main content
View all



Hon. Richard Nyarko, assembly member for Deduako electoral area has been elected as the new Presiding Member (PM) for the Oforikrom Municipal Assembly at a Special General Assembly Meeting organized at Banisvila on Tuesday, February 21, 2023.

This was after the former PM, Hon. Frank Frimpong resigned from his duties in an official letter presented to the general Assembly.

The elections was keenly contested among Hon. Kwame Bassoah, Hon. Kenneth Bediako and Hon. Richard Nyarko with Officials from the Electoral Commission of Ghana present to conduct the elections.

After the first round of voting, none of the three contestants gained the required absolute majority of 16 votes to become the Presiding Member of the assembly. However, Hon. Bassoah and Hon. Kenneth who garnered 1 vote and 6 votes respectively pulled out of the race to allow Hon. Nyarko go unopposed.

In a ‘YES’ or ‘NO’ ballot, 16 members out of the 18 valid votes cast voted "Yes" to confirm Hon. Richard Nyarko as the Presiding Member.

The newly elected presiding member was later sworn in by His Lordship Ebenezer Kwaku Ansah Supervising Judge, Adum High Court who took him through the Oaths of Secrecy and Allegiance.

He expressed his joy for winning the contest and was grateful to his collogues for the confidence reposed in him. Additionally, he pledged to maintain transparency of the assembly as well as the responsibility to their constituents with the support from his collogues and assembly.

The assembly members also congratulated the newly elected presiding member with the expectation that he will fill the position with a fresh perspective.

In attendance were the Municipal Chief Executive, Hon. Abraham Kwame Antwi, Municipal Co-ordinating Director, Mr. Charles Attah-Mensah, Hon. Assembly Members, Staff of the Assembly and other dignitaries.